Gluten & Sugar Free Blueberry Muffins

Gluten & Sugar Free Blueberry Muffins

My husband and I – the teens are doing their own thing – are on our second month of gluten and sugar free eating. We’re feeling really good eating this way. These muffins are great!  After the first day, I take the leftovers and freeze them. Then we can pull two out as we want and give them a quick reheat in the oven. They are wonderful warm,  split in half with pastured butter on top and they are very filling and they’re low carb as well – less then 2 grams per muffin. One is plenty! And my husband was amazed at how good they are. He liked them as well – if not better –  then the blueberry muffins we used to make: http://momsforsafefood.net/2010/02/01/organic-blueberry-muffins/

Ingredients:

2 cups organic almond meal – we make ours from crispy almonds

2 teaspoons baking powder

¼  teaspoon Celtic or sea salt

½  cup (1 stick) organic/ pastured butter, melted

4  organic/pastured eggs

1/3  cup water

1 cup fresh or frozen organic blueberries

½  tsp. organic lemon zest

1 tsp. organic vanilla extract

Stevia to taste = to 1/3 to ½ cup of sugar.

Preparation:

1) Preheat oven to 350 F.

2) Butter or put muffin cups into a 12 muffin tin.

3) Mix dry ingredients together well.

4) Add wet ingredients and mix thoroughly. You don’t have to worry about overmixing with almond flour/meal

5) Put in muffin tins (about 1/2 to 2/3 full) and bake for about 20 – 25 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Read more, great Monday Mania posts here: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/2011/08/monday-mania-812011/

Read more, Motivate Me Monday posts here: http://craftskeepmesane.blogspot.com/2011/07/motivate-me-monday-81.html

Read more, great Made from Scratch Tuesday posts here: http://messhalltobistro.blogspot.com/2011/08/made-from-scratch-tuesday-82.html

Read more, great Tasty Tuesday posts here: http://beautyandbedlam.com/do-your-eating-habits-change-during-the-seasons/

Read more, Tempt my Tummy Tuesday posts here:  http://www.blessedwithgrace.net/2011/08/tempt-my-tummy-tuesday-orecchiette-with-peas-shrimp-and-buttermilk-herb-dressing/

Read more, great Real Food Wednesday posts here: http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2011/08/real-food-wednesday-832011.html

Read more, Works for me Wednesday posts here: http://wearethatfamily.com/2011/08/wfmw-vinyl-wall-art/

Read more, Women Living well posts here: http://womenlivingwell.org/category/women-living-well-wednesdays/

Read more, Let’s Do Brunch posts here: http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2011/08/lets-do-brunch.html

Read more, What’s Cooking Wednesday posts here: http://thekingscourt4.blogspot.com/2011/08/whats-cooking-wednesday-8311.html

Read more, great Healthy 2 day Wednesday posts here: http://day2dayjoys.blogspot.com/search/label/Healthy%202day%20Wednesdays

Read more, great Pennywise Platter Thursday posts here: http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2011/08/pennywise-platter-thursday-84.html

Read more, great Simple Lives Thursday posts here: http://gnowfglins.com/2011/08/04/simple-lives-thursday-55/

Read more, great Fight Back Friday posts here: http://www.foodrenegade.com/fight-back-friday-august-5th/

5 Responses to “Gluten & Sugar Free Blueberry Muffins”